Our Province

The Province of Malta ‘Our Lady of the Sacred Heart of Jesus’, was founded on the 22nd June 2001, when the Congregation was divided into Provinces and Regions. This structure was created to ensure inspirational unity and fraternal communion, in different environments while keeping in mind our sole mission in which we all participate wherever we are called and are ready to live and to work. With loving care, we preserve the spiritual heritage left to us, as a precious heritage by our Founders, Fr. Joseph Diacono and the Servant of God Mother Margherita De Brincat and passed on to us by the examples of their lives and writings, above all by those found in the letters of Mother Margherita. We teach, nurse and do pastoral and social work, and are ready to serve God, His Church and his people in different cultures and societies. We contribute to the mission of the universal Church in conformity with our charism. We proclaim the Gospel of fraternity, of joy, and of peace by word and by deed.

The Maltese Province consists of:

14 communities in Malta, 4 in Gozo and 1 in London (United Kingdom).

The Provincial Council

The Provincial Council, the driving force of the spiritual and apostolic life of the Province, cooperates with the provincial superior in animating the communities through information, study and contribution of concrete experiences.
The Provincial Council is formed of the Provincial Superior, who convenes and presides it, and four Councillors. The provincial Councillors are elected during the Provincial Chapter. Their role demands union of intention and action to enhance communion among the communities, the provincial Council and the General Government.

From Left:

Sr Elaine Mifsud        (Councillor)

Sr Marica Agius         (Councillor & Secretary)

Sr Claudia Zammit    (Provincial Superior)

Sr Gabriella Grech     (Provincial Vicar )

Sr Elaine Spiteri         ( Councillor & Bursar)